top of page

JW UFC Champions

October 28, 2020

Jackson Wink MMA is one of the best MMA gyms in the world, and as such, it has produced some of the best fighters in the sport of mixed martial arts. In the UFC alone, Jackson Wink MMA had produced a total of five world champions.

Let's take a look at the five UFC titleholders who trained under Jackson Wink MMA:

Jon Jones

Jon Jones is widely regarded as the GOAT of ALL of Mixed Martial Arts.

The 33-year old Jones is a former two-time UFC light heavyweight champion.

His first reign was from March 2011 to April 2015 and he became the UFC King again from December 2018 before vacating the title in August 2020.

Jones holds the distinction of being the youngest champion in the history of the UFC. He is currently on a hiatus, but New Hampshire betting sites have him as a slight favorite should he return and fight UFC middleweight champion Israel Adesanya in a super fight, or the Heavyweight Division.

Georges St. Pierre

Georges St. Pierre is one of the best mixed martial artists ever.

GSP was a two-division champion in the UFC, winning the UFC welterweight and middleweight titles at different stages of his career.

Rush retired as the UFC welterweight champion in 2013, having held the record for most title bout wins and the longest combined title streak (2,204 days) while defending his belt successfully nine times.

He emerged from retirement at UFC 217 in 2017 where he beat Michael Bisping to win the middleweight title, becoming the 4th two-division champion in the history of the UFC.

Rashad Evans

“Suga” wrestled for Michigan State University in the NCAA Division I before joining professional MMA in 2003.

He broke to prominence after winning The Ultimate Fighter 2 tournament. Evans had his best year in 2008 where he scored the 2008 Knockout of the Year against Chuck Liddell at UFC 88.

Three months later, he would go on to stop Forrest Griffin at UFC 92 to win the UFC light heavyweight title.

Evans challenged for the 205-pound belt against Jon Jones at UFC 145, losing by unanimous decision. Evans retired in 2018 and was named to the UFC Hall of Fame in 2019.

Holly Holm

The Preacher’s Daughter won the UFC women’s bantamweight title with the head kick heard all over the world.

Holm ended Ronda Rousey’s dominant reign with a masterful performance at UFC 193 which ended in one of the most famous head kick KOs in the history of the sport.

Now 39, Holm is back as the division’s no. 2 ranked contender and a rematch with Amanda Nunes is one of the top UFC fights to make next year. Before that though, she might have to go through another rematch - the one against no. 1 contender Germaine de Randamie.

Carlos Condit

Carlos Condit was the last WEC welterweight champion who was one of the fighters carried over to the UFC during the merger of the two promotions.

The Natural Born Killer won four straight bouts to earn a shot at the interim UFC welterweight title. He would go on to defeat Nick Diaz at UFC 143 to become the interim welterweight champion.

Condit then challenged Jackson Wink MMA stablemate Georges St. Pierre for the undisputed title at UFC 154. He lost via unanimous decision in a Fight of the Night winner.

Condit has struggled since then but on October 4, 2020, he defeated Court McGee to return to the winner’s circle.

This article first appeared on JACKSONWINK.COM on 10/28/2020

84 views0 comments


bottom of page